19 Fine Arts students earn All-State honors

19 Fine Arts students earn All-State honors

Nineteen NISD Fine Arts students from eight high schools were selected to the Texas Music Educators’ Association (TMEA) All-State Band, Choir, Orchestra, and Jazz bands.

All-State is the highest individual honor that a music student can receive in public school music education. It represents the top one percent of student musicians in Texas. Over 68,000 students engage in the audition process with only 1,780 students selected.

Students will rehearse and perform with nationally-recognized conductors during the TMEA Music Convention to be held in San Antonio in February. Visit the TMEA website for concert information.


Brandeis HS

Logan Francesco, Band

Connor Castillo, Band

Hunter Messick, Orchestra

Ray Zhang, Orchestra

Emerald Brown, Choir

Vivian Vasquez, Choir


Brennan HS

Devon Chance, Choir

Dominic Villareal, Choir


Clark HS

Gabriel Carlton, Choir

Dylan Knowles, Jazz Band


Harlan HS

Trinity Ramon, Band

Blain Laumer, Band


Health Careers HS

Lydia Salinas, Choir


Marshall HS

Bryce Riggle, Choir

Sara Knoy, Choir


O’Connor HS

Jacob Chavez, Jazz Band


Stevens HS

Brendan Neal, Band


Taft HS

Isabel Bulen, Choir

Ezra Rodriguez, Jazz Band


Teachers are Anna Osterman, Daniel Asgari and Kevin Garcia-Hettinger, Brandeis HS; Amber Shodrok, Brennan HS; Justin Murphy and Megan Eyden, Clark HS; Bobby de Leon, Harlan HS; Martha Bagwell, Health Careers HS; Sherry Millican, Marshall HS; Alfonso Alvarado, O’Connor HS; Adam Casiano, Stevens HS; and Greg Mills and Judy Welch, Taft HS.