Fine Arts teachers recognized with “standing ovation”

Standing Ovation with red carpet and spotlight

There wasn’t a red carpet or paparazzi this year, but it was still an evening reminiscent of the Academy Awards – virtual-style. 

NISD Fine Arts educators were treated as stars as the envelopes were opened and the awards were announced live on YouTube for the third annual Standing Ovations Awards. 

“I can think of no better way to quarantine than to spend this evening celebrating the best of the best from our Fine Arts Department,” said James Miculka, Director of Fine Arts programs in NISD. “Tonight, we celebrate the work these outstanding educators do to bring quality fine arts programs to their schools and communities.”

Miculka explained that earlier in the year, teachers were asked to nominate colleagues who they believe epitomized quality work in visual and performing arts disciplines. The nominees were notified and asked to complete an application. A panel of judges reviewed the instructor nomination forms and selected those who were to receive a Standing Ovation Award.

Click here to watch the event.

Award Name Recipient Schools
Rising Star - Elementary Emily Jeffries Mireles ES
Rising Star - Secondary Veronica Seca Rudder MS
Above & Beyond Elementary Art Pricilla Jurado Glenn ES
Above & Beyond Elementary Music Jennifer Alfaro Higgs Forester ES
Above & Beyond Middle School Art Maria Hughes Rawlinson MS
Above & Beyond Middle School Band Danika White Rayburn MS
Above & Beyond Middle School Choir Jimmy Garrett Vale Ms
Above & Beyond Middle School Dance Rachel Countryman Hobby MS
Above & Beyond Middle School Theater Farrin Gustafson Rudder MS
Above & Beyond High School Band Christopher Drayton Warren HS
Above & Beyond High School Dance Crystal Brock Brennan HS
Above & Beyond High School Orchestra Heather Gonzalez

Jay HS

Above & Beyond High School Theater Anne Bridges Holmes HS
Stellar Success - Middle School Ross MS Mariachi Program Director Jesus Gachupin
Stellar Success - High School Holmes HS Technical Theater Program Director Kirk Logan
Lifetime Achievement John Dominguez Director of Bands, Stevens HS
Bravo! Award Guy Copenhaver, Darrell Friedrich NISD audio & lighting engineers

As part of the ceremony, Fine Arts students were asked the question “how have the arts had an impact on you?” Their answers were included in the event.