NISD announces 2018 District Educators of the Year

Three first-year and three veteran teachers were named District Educators of the Year at special celebrations held annually to honor teachers who give 100 percent when it comes to improving the lives of children. In addition, Northside’s nominee for the 2018 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching was announced.

The 2018 Northside Educators of the Year are:

  • Mary Cissell, kindergarten teacher, Kuentz Elementary School
  • Isaac Esquivel, science teacher,  Hector Garcia Middle School
  • Lesford Dixon, Career & Technical Education teacher, Construction Careers Academy

The 2018 Northside First Year Educators of the Year are:

  • April Marie Quintero, second grade teacher, Franklin Elementary School
  • Matilda Sierra, science teacher, Stinson Middle School
  • Colonel Richard DeMouy, ROTC teacher, Harlan High School

And, the District’s nominee for the 2018 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award is Andres Lopez, AP English/Mexican American Literature teacher at Stevens High School.

In addition to receiving engraved plaques, first-year awardees received checks for $250, and the veteran teachers and Trinity nominee received $500 checks.

A panel of NISD educators selected the District winners from among the 211 campus Educators of the Year.

All campus winners were deemed “Simply the Best” at the District’s Educator of the Year celebrations, held March 6 and 7 this year.

The celebration has been dubbed “Simply the Best,” because the campus winners parade into the auditorium to Tina Turner’s famous song by the same name.

Pictures from this year’s Educators of the Year events can be found on the Northside website under Announcements.