Northside students achieve national recognition

Northside ISD students continue to excel and receive numerous honors and awards. Below are students who have been named National Merit Finalists, Semifinalists or Commended Scholars, and scholar finalists in the National Hispanic Recognition Program.

National Merit Finalists, Semifinalists and Commended Scholars
Northside ISD students were first named semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The semifinalists competed for 8,300 Merit Scholarship awards, worth more than $32 million. The nationwide pool of semifinalists includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. About 90 percent of the semifinalists attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists won a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

National Merit finalists include: Stephen Chen, Brandeis HS; Ryan Cao, Reggie Jacob, Yang Liu, Kathleen Ran, and Kylie Stamey, Health Careers HS; Aaron Brenner, Hernan Jaramillo, and Nicholas Johnson, Clark HS; Michael Perce, O’Connor HS; and Aeddon Chipman, Jay Science & Engineering Academy.

National Merit semifinalists include: Nathan Corbin, Brandeis HS.

National Merit Commended students include: Kumaran Arulmani, Brandi Braggs, William Bridges, Matthew Burns, Phoebe Carstens, Neil Crisostomo, Chang Guo, Mark Johnson, Kylie Kinne, Ashley Leonard, Tricia Park, Matthew Perz, Colin Phillips, Jaydon Pierson, and Duaa Sharif, Brandeis HS; Alison Drileck, Morgan Kopcho, Michael Largent, Deborah Olivier, Austin Turner, Alex Vela, and Samuel Yoon, Communications Arts HS; Kaylee Ghent, Olivia Li, Tiffany Pearson, and Michaela Perez, Health Careers HS; Jorge Del Alamo, Zachary Flores, Caleb Nash, and Alain Tio, Clark HS; and Alex Brehm, Jade Evenstad, Brandon Johnson, Tyler Knudsvig, and Joseph Wright, O’Connor HS.

National Hispanic Scholar Finalists
The National Hispanic Recognition Program is a College Board program that provides national recognition of the exceptional academic achievements of Hispanic high school seniors and identifies academically well-prepared Hispanic high school seniors for postsecondary institutions.

National Hispanic Scholar Finalists include: Katherine Soto, Sophia Rodriguez, Mariah Gomez, Daniel Guerrero, Kathryn Reitman, Riley Beard, Sarah Reyes, Carmen Gonzalez, David Feagins, and Nathan Bambacigno, Brandeis HS; Christine Zayas-Baez, Lourdes Reyes, Gabriella Sanchez, and Antonio York, Brennan HS;  Matthew Soudah and Jeremy Guzman, Business Careers HS; Paul Smith and Eduardo Gonzalez, Holmes HS; Alfonso Charles, Isabella Hinojosa, Christian Mendiondo, Ciliana Ordaz, and Nadia Pulido, Health Careers HS; Jorge Del Alamo, Zachary Flores, Jared Villarreal, Daniela Torres, Jeffrey Griffin, Javier Flores, Albert Coleman, Cristian Garza, Mariana Melo, Tyler Flores, Jacob Toranzo, and Sophia Carranco, Clark HS; and Joshua Contreras, O’Connor HS.