Viktor Strelnikov named 2019 Innovator of the Year

Viktor Strelnikov named 2019 Innovator of the Year

Viktor Strelnikov, an Application Systems Administrator in Technology Services, went to the Northside Activity Center to hear the State of the District by Superintendent Dr. Brian Woods at the Support Leadership Teams (SLT) Leadership Institute.

Instead, he was surprised to receive the 2019 Ed Rawlinson Innovator of the Year award, presented to him by former Superintendent Ed Rawlinson. Strelnikov was among 14 nominees for the award.

Viktor Strelnikov’s innovation was the development of an application, EasyTNAV, that enables campus staff to deploy an environment meeting security and technical requirements for tens of thousands of state-mandated testing sessions at will, in any computer lab or classroom without intervention from, or coordination with, Technology Services staff. Campus and departmental staff time have been freed up, lab and classroom computer availability increased, and the online test environment is now more reliable.

“Viktor single-handedly developed improvements to the delivery, stability, and coordination of standardized online testing in the District,” says Lori Jones, Assistant Superintendent for Technology Services.

Campus staff no longer have to request computer labs be switched to or from the “online testing mode.” Strelnikov’s application called EasyTNav, now available on every student computer across the district, enables any user to put the computer in online test mode at any time simply by confirming they want the computer in test mode.

“This innovation has made an immediate, profound, and widespread impact for every campus and multiple Technology Services staff members,” Jones said. “The old method involved a complex system of computer policy enforcement that, while largely effective, did not always work as desired and necessitated identification and remediation of failures.”

The Ed Rawlinson Innovator of the Year program has been recognizing outstanding NISD staff since 2003 by the Northside Education Foundation (NEF). Beginning this school year, the IOY program will focus on recognizing innovative practices initiated by non-campus department staff members.

As this year’s recipient, Strelnikov and his department each receive $250 from NEF.

Other 2019 nominees were Steven Anderson, Student Information Systems; Lisa Armstrong, Continuous Improvement Department; Yolanda Chapman, State and Federal Programs; Anna Draker, Testing and Evaluation Department; Jeanette Driffill, Special Education Department; Larbi Elouafrassi, Human Resources Department; Ginger Fleming, Elementary Curriculum and Instruction; Matt Frymire, Academic Technology; Jennifer Gonzales, Curriculum and Instruction; Priscilla Kiteculo, Transportation Department; James Miculka, Fine Arts Department; Daniel Perez, Bilingual/ESL Department; and Kim Stewart, GT and Advanced Academics.

For a summary of each nominee’s innovations, click here.