Creating and Managing Groups in Contacts

Google allows users to create groups of contacts for mailing lists and distributing documents via Google Drive.Groups can also be used to invite people to events in Calendar among other things.

Creating Groups

  1. From your main Gmail Screen, click the GMAIL drop down in the top-left corner of the screen.
  2. Select CONTACTS.

  3. On the left-hand side of the screen locate and select NEW GROUP. A pop-up window will appear.

    Select New Group

  4. Enter your GROUP NAME.
  5. Click OK. The Group will appear on the left-hand side of the contacts window.

    Type group name and hit enter

Adding Contacts to the Group

There are a few ways to add contacts to the group. One way is not better than the other; just a personal preference.

Selecting Contacts from lists

  1. Locate the contact(s) you wish to add to the group.
  2. Click the CHECKBOX next to the name of the contact(s) you wish to add.

    Selecting contacts

  3. Once you have made all of the selections on a screen, click the GROUP button.
  4. Select the GROUP you wish to add the contacts to by clicking the checkbox next to the group name.
  5. Click APPLY. The contacts will be added to the group.

    Adding contacts to the group

The Edit Contact Screen

  1. Select a contact to edit by clicking on the CONTACT NAME.The browser will go to the contact edit screen.
  2. Click the GROUP button.

    Edit Contact Screen

  3. Select the GROUP(S) you wish to add the contact to by clicking the checkbox next to the group name(s).
  4. Click APPLY. The contact will be added to the group(s).

    Select groups to add contact to

Removing Contacts from a group

  1. Select the GROUP by clicking on the group name on the left-hand side of the screen.
  2. Select the contact you wish to remove from the group by clicking the CONTACT NAME. The edit contact screen will appear.
  3. Select the DROP-DOWN ARROW next to the group you wish to remove the contact from.
  4. Click REMOVE FROM THIS GROUP. You will receive a confirmation message at the top of the screen.

    edit contact screen

Deleting a Group

  1. Select the GROUP by clicking on the group name on the left-hand side of the screen.
  2. Click the MORE button.
  3. Select DELETE GROUP. A pop-up window will appear notifying you that contacts will not be deleted, just the group is deleted.

    Deleting a group

  4. Select OK. The group will be removed from the list on the left-hand side of the screen.
Home