outdoor pep rally in ampitheatre

Extracurriculars

Sponsor
Juan Morales

PURPOSE OF ATHLETICS AT HOLMES/NSITE HIGH SCHOOL

The Holmes/NSITE High School Athletic Program plays an integral part of a student's total educational experience and in their development as well-rounded students.  

The purpose of our athletic program is to leave a legacy of success in the lives of our student-athletes.  

We work to promote high academic standards along with developing strong character. Our coaches are committed to developing our young men and women to be the best possible student, athlete, and citizen they can possibly become through the spirit of competition. Coaches will motivate our student/athletes to always put forth their best effort in the development of their character, talents, and academic success. 

We are extremely proud of our Holmes/NSITE High School student-athletes because of the poise, character, and self-discipline they exhibit during competitions. They exemplify what it means to be a well-rounded student at Holmes/NSITE High School.  

We encourage you to show your support by finding a game near you on our Athletic Website. 

Enjoy the seasons!

                                                                                                        ~HUSKY ATHLETICS

Sports offered:

  • BASEBALL
  • BASKETBALL
  • BOWLING
  • CROSS COUNTRY
  • FOOTBALL
  • GOLD
  • SOCCER
  • SOFTBALL
  • SWIMMING & DIVING
  • TENNIS
  • TRACK & FIELD
  • VOLLEYBALL

REMINDER:

All athletes must have their physical and online paperwork complete before receiving equipment and/or participating. The online paperwork link is: https://northsideisd.rankonesport.com/new/home.aspx

Any questions please contact our athletic trainer Kristy Garza at kristy.garza@nisd.net or Samantha Ritchie at samantha.ritchie@nisd.net.

For district athletic information please go to NISD Athletic website HERE

 

Our chapter of Business Professionals of America is among the top in the state. Interested in Joining Business Careers High School BPA?  Click here to apply!

Sponsors: Ms. Breitbarth   

Get Connected! Sign up for BPA Remind: Text to:  81010 (or 210-807-8481); Message:  @bchsbpa18  

Business Professionals of America is the premier CTSO (Career and Technical Student Organization) for students pursuing careers in business management, office administration, information technology and other related career fields.  BPA ... prepares students to succeed and assesses real world business skills and problem solving abilities in finance, management, IT and computer applications.  As a co-curricular activity, Business Professionals of America has the ability to enhance student participation in professional, civic, service and social endeavors. Business Professionals of America members participate in these activities to accomplish its goals of self-improvement, leadership development, professionalism, community service, career development, public relations, student cooperation and safety and health. 

Please visit the national and/or state BPA websites for more information                                

Texas BPA:   https://www.texasbpa.com/index.php

National BPA:   http://www.bpa.org/

 

 

Who can Join?

9th - 12th grade BCHS students may join BPA.  They will submit a signed permission slip, Event Selection form, and pay $20.00 dues.  They must compete in an individual and/or team event in order to advance by placing at the top of their event(s) in each level of competition beginning with Regionals, then State and Nationals.

Students will also participate in community service, leadership, and professional development activities through BPA sponsored programs such as the BPA Cares Award, Torch Award, Leadership Academy, and the Intern Program while a member of BCHS BPA and while attending the leadership conferences.

 

 

Sponsor
Jan Breitbarth

2021-2022 Career Expo will be coming soon!

Please contact Ms. Breitbarth at jan.breitbarth for more information.

Club/Organization

Sponsor (s)

Room #

Ext #

Email

Academic Decathlon

Doug Engbrock / Dora Gonzalez

B204

3204

dora.gonzalez@nisd.net

AFJROTC

Levertis Davis/Robert Veristique/Colleen Curl

D104/D107

76984

robert.verastiqui@nisd.net

ART Club

Erica Taht & Elvia Franco

A 001/ A 002

3133 & 3147

erica.taht@nisd.net

Athletic Trainers

Kristy Garza

C103a or I126

77023

kristy.garza@nisd.net

Auto body collision and refinishing

Frank Plata

E111

76948

frank.plata@nisd.net

Auto Shop

Carlos Gonzalez

H105

3121

carlos.gonzalez@nisd.net

AVID

Monica Yzaguirre

F101

3143

monica.yzaguirre@nisd.net

Band

Daniel Lugo/Joey Pereira/Rod Herrera

A145/A146

7059

daniel.lugo@nisd.net

Baseball

Jose Luna

BGYM

76963

jose.luna@nisd.net

Basketball (Boys)

James Joseph/John Vargas

BGYM/D216

3276

john.vargas@nisd.net

Basketball (Girls)

Carl Lee

GGYM

 

carl.lee@nisd.net

Bowling Club

Chad Faldt

F109

3149

chad.faldt@nisd.net

Business COOP/HHS COOP

Jan Breitbarth

F206/D321

76954

jan.breitbarth@nisd.net

Business Professionals of America "BPA"

Jan Breitbarth / Cathleen Brannen

H206

76945

jan.breitbarth@nisd.net

Cheer

Danielle Webber

I123

7047

danielle.webber@nisd.net

Chess Club

       

Choir

       

Cross Country (Boys)

Steve Barlow

GGYM

76965

steve.barlow@nisd.net

CyberPatriots

Diaz, John

H207

3307

john.diaz@nisd.net

Dance Team (Goldies)/ Sleighbelles

Diamond Garcia

I123

7047

diamond.garcia@nisd.net

Danza Unida

Diamond Garica

I123

 

diamond.garcia@nisd.net

English Honor Society (EHS)

Dr. Michael Stevens

D314

3304

michael.stevens@nisd.net

Fashion Design

Jill Thompson

H107

76959

jill.tomlinson-thompson@nisd.net

FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes)

Kristy Garza/ Roger Luna

I126

77023

kristy.garza@nisd.net

Football

Juan Morales

BGYM

76960

juan.morales@nisd.net

Forensic League/Debate

Eric Falcon

F103

3213

eric.falcon@nisd.net

French Club/ French Honor Society

Elena Chambers

I207

3299

elena.chambers@nisd.net

Friends Having Fun

Jessica Becker

P002

3398

jessica.becker@nisd.net

Girls Athletics

Steve Barlow

C103D

6965

steve.barlow@nisd.net

Girls Who Code

Patricia Fair

H205

3105

patricia.fair@nisd.net

Golden Masque - Dramatic Society

Anne Bridges

A132

77058

anne.bridges@nisd.net

Golf

Michael Bombek

P011

 

michael.bombek@nisd.net

Gravel- Newspaper / Yearbook (Justice)

Nicholas Martinez

A004

77054

nicholas-1.martinez@nisd.net

GT Alpha

       

Homemaking/Culinary

Jill Thompson

H114

H114

jill.tomlinson-thompson@nisd.net

HOSA (Health Occupation Students of America)

Shannan Rojas/Larissa Hale/Monica Draeger

E-102

6988

shannan.rojas@nisd.net

Huskies Who Code (Guys)

Patricia Fair

H205

3105

patricia.fair@nisd.net

Industrial Arts- Metal

Oscar Pardo

H100

3100

oscar.pardo@nisd.net

Industrial Arts- Wood

Geronimo Olvera

H111

3110

geronimo.olvera@nisd.net

Interact Club

Elena Chambers

I209

3299

elena.chambers@nisd.net

Life Skills

Kati Harmon

 

3303

kati.harmon@nisd.net

Mariachi

Aaron Rios

A148

3229

aaron.rios@nisd.net

Mentor Program

Mrs. Pulido/ Mrs. Rizo

NSITE Office

7068

nsite.mentor@nisd.net

Music Business and Audio Tech (Coming Soon)

Tim Logan

A149

76952

timothy.logan@nisd.net

National English Honor Society (NEHS)

Michael Stevens/Samantha Crawford

D304/D314

3304/3314

michael.stevens@nisd.net

National Honor Society (NHS)

Alexandra Harris/ Pablo Muniz

D212/ D213

3272

alexandra.Harris@nisd.net

NAWBO (NSITE)

Kelly Braun

H203

7070

kelly.braun@nisd.net

Orchestra

Tim Logan

A149

76952

timothy.logan@nisd.net

Pep Squad

Zelda Sendejo

P007/I123

3228/7047

zelda.sendejo@nisd.net

Senior Class (Class of 2022)

Emily Vasquez

D 208/D 224

3268/

emily.vasquez@nisd.net

Silverbells (Pep Squad)

Zelda Sendejo

I123

3398

zelda.sendejo@nisd.net

Skills USA (Auto Collision Repair)

Frank Plata

E111

76948

frank.plata@nisd.net

Skills USA (Auto Tech)

David Hoyack

H101

76958

david.hoyack@nisd.net

Skills USA (Cosmetology)

Rachel Lovelady

H108

76947

rachel.lovelady@nisd.net

Skills USA (Drafting and Construction)

Alvaro Gamillo

H115

76989

alvaro.gamillo@nisd.net

Soccer (Boys)

Steven Rodriguez

F210

3145

steven.rodriguez@nisd.net

Soccer (Girls)

       

Softball

Melissa Wueste

P010

76966

melissa.wueste@nisd.net

Sophomore Class

John Aguirre / Geronimo Olvera

H-

 

john.aguirre@nisd.net

Spanish Club

Nora Gaona/ Maria Andrus

I205

3295

nora.gaona@nisd.net

Spanish National Honor Society

Elena Chambers/ Belinda Ibarra / Maria Mota

I 209

3299

elena.chambers@nisd.net

Special Olympics

Gary Guerrero

P001

3397

gary.guerrero@nisd.net

Speech and Debate

Eric Falcon

F103

3213

eric.falcon@nisd.net

Student Council

Emily Vasquez

D208

3268

emily.vasquez@nisd.net

Student Interact Club

Elena Chambers

I207

3299

elena.chambers@nisd.net

Swimming/Diving

Shaunta Henderson

D206

3310

shaunta.henderson@nisd.net

Tennis

Michael Garcia

BGYM

77033

michael.garcia@nisd.net

Texas Future Music Educators (Open to all music students)

Tim Logan

A149

76952

timothy.logan@nisd.net

Theatre Arts

Annie Bridges/Sabrina Sanford Martinez

A132

77058

anne.bridges@nisd.net

Track (Boys)

Jason Reynosa

BGYM

77007

jason.reynosa@nisd.net

Track (Girls)

Steve Barlow

BGYM

76965

steve.barlow@nisd.net

UIL Academic

Dora Gonzalez

D219

3256

dora.gonzalez@nisd.net

Volleyball

Laura Suarez

GGYM

76993

laura.suarez@nisd.net

Water Polo

Michael Bombek

D206

 

michael.bombek@nisd.net

Work Center

Leticia Lerma

C102b

3152

leticia.lerma@nisd.net

Yearbook, Newspaper, Broadcast, Photography

Nicholas Martinez

A004/A003

7054

nicholas-1.martinez@nisd.net

CYBERPATRIOT 

Since 2009, CyberPatriot’s National Youth Cyber Defense Competition has challenged teams of two to six students to secure simulated computer systems and resolve real-life cybersecurity situations faced by industry professionals. The competition provides students hands-on experience securing computer networks while exciting, educating, and motivating them toward careers in cybersecurity and other science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields. 

The National Final Competition is the only in-person round, where teams compete to defend virtual networks and mobile devices from a professional aggressor team. The National Finalists also face-off in three additional competition components: the Cisco Networking Challenge, the Leidos Digital Forensics Challenge, and the Facebook Cybersecurity Challenge.

The CyberPatriot competition provides students with skills that can be used in the work force once they graduate high school. 

 

In recent history, our Husky IT Academy accomplishments include:

2015 1st Open Division in the State San Antonio Mayor’s Cup Award

2016 1st Air Force JROTC team in the state 2nd in the U.S. region Air Force JROTC moved on to be 1 of 13 teams to compete in the CyberPatriot National Final Competition

2017 Cisco All Service National Champions 4th in the nation in the All Service Division


JOIN OUR TEAM!

Cyber Patriot accepts ALL students in ALL Academies. For more information contact Mr. John Diaz   john.diaz@nisd.net 

 

The Holmes and NSITE English Honor Society, carries with it a commitment to the mission of the founders of the Society: to promote mastery of written expression, encourage worthwhile reading, and foster fellowship among students who excel in English studies. This chapter is charged to share their gifts by service to society and by fostering literacy throughout our school and community as well as keeping in mind our national motto, as their guiding principle "Duty goes with honor."

 

For more information, please contact Dr. Stevens at michael.stevens@nisd.net

 

Girls Who Code is on a mission to close the the gender gap in technology and to change the image of what a programmer looks like and does. For more information, contact Ms. Fair - patricia.fair@nisd.net.

The National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) involves women business owners from San Antonio who mentor young high school female students to encourage them to explore entrepreneurship as a means to financial independence and career satisfaction. In turn, the students compete for scholarships by composing a business plan to possibly start a business of their own in the future.  The students meet several  times after school with women business owners to develop business etiquette tips, learning about collaboration, team building, and brainstorming business ideas to begin the dream of becoming an entrepreneur and making it a reality. 

There are several chapters of the organization throughout the United States. Please contact Ms.Braun kelly.braun@nisd.net for more NAWBO information or visit www.nawbosa.org

Sponsor
Elena Chambers

For more information please contact Ms. Elena Chambers at elena.chambers@nisd.net

 

Sponsor
Pablo Muniz and Alexandria Harris

The goal of the Northside School of Innovation, Technology & Entrepreneurship Mentor Program is to provide our students with role models in professional positions who will contribute to their personal development and expand their understanding of the business world and future career opportunities. Our Mentoring Program is honored with over 150 mentors and some have been mentoring our students for over 10 years! The San Antonio and surrounding area large and small corporate community pulls together to reach our future innovative business leaders of  NSITE.

The school provides an opportunity for students and mentors to have lunch together on the NSITE campus approximately once a month from September to May. The student and mentor meet during the student's assigned lunch period. Some months, the school's culinary arts classes prepare the meal.  Other months, mentors bring lunch for themselves and their mentee.

The NSITE staff will be responsible for pairing students and mentors. Every effort will be made to match students and mentors with similar career or extracurricular interests.

Mentors:

Interested in making a positive impact on our future leaders? Apply now to be a Mentor! Follow this link to complete the application. All Mentors will need to complete the application as well as the NISD Background check to be accepted.

Students:

Would you like to have an opportunity to learn from someone working in the profession which you are interested? Looking to have a professional perspective on what your future career could be like? If you answered YES, then apply for our 2019-2020 Mentor Program. You will need to complete the follwing forms: Mentor Program Student online application and Student/Parent Acceptance of Responsibilities form. Return the completed acknowledgement form to the NSITE front office. All applicants are chosen on a first come first serve basis. 

Thank you NSITE Community!

Thank you to all of the many businesses, including those listed below, who serve as our Mentors and represent our supportive community.

NSite chooses outstanding students to represent the Academies of Business Management, Finance, and Information Technology.  Students apply for these leadership positions the first month of school and are selected based on the strength of their application, teacher evaluations, and a personal interview. 

Available positions are as follows:  Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer, and Chief Information Officer.  Representatives are also selected from the tenth, eleventh, and twelfth grades for each of the three academies. 

In addition to being leaders on the NSite campus these students participate in fundraising efforts throughout the year and volunteer opportunities that enrich the lives of individuals within their community.

Sponsor
Emily Vasquez

Student Council is an organization where we aspire students to become leaders on our campus and within the community. The students are volunteer their time to create a unified atmosphere on the campus by organizing events that pertain to all students and staff.

This prepares them to become leaders in the outside community after high school graduation. 

Who can join? Anyone interested in making our campus great.

Elections held yearly for offices in April. Applications for officer positions can be picked up from sponsors.

Come help be a part of the Husky community!

Cafeteria Menus
Calendars
Registration
Health & Vaccination Forms
Buses & Boundaries
District Programs
Safeline
Graduation